National Association for Therapeutic Education

NATE National Association for Therapeutic Education

Patrons: Graham Allen MP* Sir David Amess MP Gregory Barker MP* Bishop Paul Bayes Richard Benyon MP Gerry Bermingham MP* Clive Betts MP Nicola Blackwood MP* Tom Blenkinsop MP David Borrow MP* Dr Peter Brand MP* Julian Brazier MP* Steve Brine MP Helen Brinton MP* Annette Brooke MP* Robert Buckland MP Paul Burstow MP* Bishop Paul Butler Lord Carlile of Berriew CBE QC MP* Neil Carmichael MP* Jenny Chapman MP Lord Chidgey MP* Rt Hon Tom Clarke CBE JP KSG MP* Vernon Coaker MP Rosie Cooper MP Lord Cotter MP* Baroness Cox John Cryer MP Alex Cunningham MP Sir Tony Cunningham MP* Cynog Dafis MP* Bryan Davies MP* Philip Davies MP Rt Hon David Davis MP Jim Dobbin MP* Rt Hon Sir Jeffrey Donaldson MP Brian Donohue MP* Mark Durkan MP* Rt Rev Lord Eames OM Bill Esterson MP Bill Etherington MP* Nigel Evans MP Mark Fisher MP* Robert Flello MP* Lord Flight MP* Barbara Follett MP* Michael Gapes MP Rt Hon Sir Edward Garnier QC MP* Dr Ian Gibson MP* Stephen Gilbert MP* Lord Glentoran CBE DL Mary Glindon MP Sir Richard Glyn BT Thomas Graham MP* Baroness Greengross OBE Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC MP Andrew Gwynne MP Fabian Hamilton MP Mike Hancock CBE MP* Sir Nick Harvey MP* Lord Haskins John Hemming MP* Sharon Hodgson MP Adam Holloway MP Paul Holmes MP* Baroness Hooper CMG Bishop Alan Hopes Rt Hon Lord Howarth of Newport CBE Rt Hon George Howarth MP Baroness Howe of Idlicote CBE Dr Kim Howells MP* Rt Hon Lindsay Hoyle MP Andrew Hunter MP* Dr Brian Iddon MP* Cathy Jamieson MP* Brian Jenkins MP* Jon Owen Jones MP* Dr Lynne Jones MP* Martyn Jones MP* Nigel Jones MP* Fraser Kemp MP* Andy King MP* Rt Hon Lord Knight of Weymouth Rt Hon Norman Lamb MP Pauline Latham OBE MP Professor Lord Layard Rt Hon Andrea Leadsom MP John Leech MP* Sir Edward Leigh MP Rt Hon Sir Oliver Letwin MP Professor the Baroness Lister of Burtesett CBE Bob Litherland MP* Elfyn Llwyd MP* Andy Love MP* Karen Lumley MP* Dr Wendy Lynas PhD Rob Marris MP* Baroness Masham of Ilton DL Ian Mearns MP Patrick Mercer OBE MP* Norman Mikardo** Penny Mordaunt MP George Mudie MP* Cardinal Cormac Murphy O’Connor** Bishop James Newcome Mark Oaten MP* Lembit Opik MP* Diana Organ MP* Sandra Osborne MP* Lord Ouseley Bob Parry MP* Rt Hon Priti Patel MP Professor Sir Denis Pereira Gray OBE Peter Pike MP* Bishop Stephen Platten Chris Pond MP* Mark Prisk MP Bishop John Pritchard John Pugh MP* Lord Rana MBE Syd Rapson BEM MP* Bishop John Rawsthorne Bishop Dr Lee Rayfield Lord Rea Of Eskdale MD FRCGP Bishop Edwin Regan Margaret Ritchie MP Bishop Tony Robinson Dan Rogerson MP* Sir Bob Russell MP* Christine Russell MP* Martin Salter MP* Adrian Sanders MP* Laura Sandys MP* Barry Sheerman MP Henry Smith MP Archbishop Peter Smith Peter Snape MP* Gerry Sutcliffe MP* Lord Taverne QC Simon Thomas MP* Baroness Thornton Rt Hon Viscount Thurso PC MP* Sir John Timpson CBE Dr Desmond Turner MP* Dr Rudi Vis MP* Baroness Walmsley Dame Angela Watkinson DBE MP* Mark Williams MP* Roger Williams MP* Bishop Tom Williams Lord Willis of Knaresborough ( * formerly member of Parliament) (** formerly patron)


59 Birdham Road Chichester PO19 8TB    07984654503         /18


The National Association for Therapeutic Education NATE was founded in 1995 amid the nationwide collapse of therapeutic education for severely emotionally disturbed children. The crisis occurred because therapeutic schools were too small to resource the full range of academic subjects required by the National Curriculum. Government was aware of the problem but therapeutic schools were allowed to disappear.

It became clear that behind the crisis in the specialism lay a far greater and more critical national institutional failure. This was the continuing general failure of the school system to resource formative emotional growth.  It is a central function of the school system and infant education in particular to resource formative emotional development. But in practice infant schools generally are not equipped for this purpose.  

For more than twenty years the National Association for Therapeutic Education has drawn the attention of senior leaders to the profound failure described here. Because the issue is of national significance and has implications for human rights the process of change has been predictably slow.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

NATE remains a small, unfunded but influential focus movement committed to persuade senior leaders to restore a specialist therapeutic school service for severely emotionally disturbed children nationwide but more importantly to address the continuing general failure of the UK school system to resource formative emotional development.

The current central campaign document of the National Association for Therapeutic Education entitled

                                   The Deepening Crisis of Childhood


                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             follows on the next page.......................                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       

John Tierney   Director   National Association for Therapeutic Education   NATE